“But life doesn’t often spell things out for you or give you what you want exactly when you want it, otherwise it wouldn’t be called life, it would be called vending machine.”

It’s hard to say exactly when it will happen, and it’s true that whatever you’re after may not drop down the moment you spend all your quarters, but someday soon a train is coming. In fact, it may already be on the way. You just don’t know it yet.”

I was so lucky to obtain a copy of Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham through a social media contest/giveaway with Scene. That said, I probably would have gone to my local library or purchased a copy had I not won the contest. I think the major selling point for anyone is that Lauren Graham has been a part of two major television shows: Gilmore Girls and Parenthood. Well, it was the selling point for me.

I think this book would be fascinating for anyone who is a fan of hers—particularly if you enjoy watching Gilmore Girls. This takes you behind the scenes of the show, both in the original airing as well as the filming of the revival, Gilmore Girls: A Year In The Life.

In terms of celebrity memoirs, this one would not make the top of my list. That pleasure resides with all of Carrie Fisher’s books. With that said, I did like Lauren Graham’s writing style. She sounded a lot like Lorelai. Because of this, I could occasionally hear her voice saying the words. This does not happen very often, mostly because it is hard when reading fiction. It is, however, a great indicator of whether or not I am going to enjoy a nonfiction book, especially celebrity memoirs.

While I did enjoy her voice, there were quite a few bits I was not all that interested in, dampening my overall enjoyment of the book. I suppose this is partially due to the fact that I do not care all that much about gossip about celebrity lives. I usually prefer to hear stories about their work (behind the scenes sort of thing) rather than all the personal, juicy details.

Aside from the insight into filiming the Gilmore Girls revival, I think my faovurite bits of this book were her experiences surrounding interviewers always asking her about her love life (which was often non-existent) as well as the secret to losing weight. I found both of these quite witty and also relatable (something that I think is difficult to find with celebrities).

Overall, I have to recommend this book if you are a fan of Gilmore Girls. You will get enjoyment out of it if you are, but if you are not a fan, I would stay away from this one. With that said, if you have read this book, what did you think? What was your favourite insight into the filming of the revival?

Funnily enough, the last one is the question I had to answer for the contest I won to get my copy of Talking As Fast As I Can. My answer? Spoiler alert, but it is the phone call between Lorelai and Emily in the final episode. Those remarks? That story? Fantastic.

~~**~~

Title: Talking As Fast As I Can

Author: Lauren Graham

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Leave a Reply

