“Whenever I saw the sun, I reminded myself that I was looking at a star. One of over a hundred billion in our galaxy. A galaxy that was just one of billions of other galaxies in the observable universe. This helped me keep things in perspective.”

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline was not what I was expecting. Normally, this would indicate apathy towards the book, but it is actually quite the opposite in this case. I started off feeling wary about the book. I also felt a little letdown at the beginning as well. However, this did not last for very long.

In many of the books I read, there is something called a trigger point. Or, something I might call a trigger point, since it is not a definitive term in literature. When I say trigger point, I mean the point in a book where I feel like I cannot stop until I finish. It is the point after which I find myself itching to return to reading the book as soon as possible, even if I only stopped because I needed to get something done quickly. Sometimes this point comes early on in the novel, even at some point on the first page, though it sometimes also comes later on (or even not at all).

Ready Player One had its trigger point within the first half of the book, which is always a good sign. The only ones to hook me within the first chapter or page are my all-time favourite novels. I do not think Ready Player One makes that list, but it is, nevertheless, an amazing book. I would know, it actually kept me awake well past when I should have been in bed, and I devoured the final half of the book as I lay in bed.

For those who may not be aware, Ready Player One is about a reality in which people around the world spend the majority of their time within a virtual reality known as Oasis. This is definitely the case for Wade Watts, the main protagonist in the story. Part of the major draw for some in Oasis is the fact that the reality’s creator, James Halliday, created a hunt for an egg. Whoever completed the three gates first would essentially gain control of Oasis. People are taking numerous approaches to achieve this. Some are working in groups and some are working alone to complete the challenge. There is also one corporation with a vast army, which players refer to as the Sixers, hunting and deciphering clues to complete the three gates and find Halliday’s egg.

While the writing itself is not poetic, I did enjoy the style. I also love the premise of people becoming obsessed, essentially, with virtual reality. It would not surprise me much if our society actually turned out this way in the future. Plus, the added stakes with the search for Halliday’s egg certainly result in a gripping science fiction novel. I have not read one of those in quite some time, so it makes for a refreshing change.

I kind of knew bits about the ending (meaning, I could guess), but at the same time I did not see the ending coming. It was bizarre, but I loved it all the same. Well, for the most part. There is one thing I would personally take out, but I can see the point of why it is there.

I think this book is definitely worth the read for most people. However, I think this book would be best suited to those who love playing video games and anyone who grew up in the 1980s (or loves content from that decade).

If you do read Ready Player One, I would like to know what you think! Did you enjoy it? Did you find you could not put it down? What are your thoughts on the ending?

~~**~~

Title: Ready Player One

Author: Ernest Cline

Publisher: Broadway Books

Leave a Reply

