What’s In My Mug: Jane Eyre by First Edition Tea Co.

I love books with strong female characters. No question.

I love reading books by female authors. No question.

I love when the books written by female authors have strong female characters, particularly when they are the main focus. No question.

Why is this the case?

I know in the case of female characters, I find it much easier to find connections with them than I do with male characters, particularly their struggles. This is, obviously, because I am a woman myself, and even if the specifics are not the same, there are still themes and underlying issues among many of the struggles women face, including for female characters.

I think part of the reason I love to read books by female authors is because I want to, at some point, be published myself. Of course, things always seem to get in the way.

All of this, however, is a story for another day. I am writing this time to tell you about my third box from Novel Editions. The theme for this month is Leading Ladies, so of course the book in the box features strong and multidimensional female characters. They take the lead in the book, and the men are the support. Once again, I will be releasing my review for the book this coming Friday—so you can find out the title and everything I thought about it then.

As for the items in this box…

Well, I think it is safe to say this is my favourite all around box, though my absolute favourite item remains the Pride and Prejudice scarf I received in my very first box. Nevertheless, in my Leading Ladies Novel Editions box, I received a set of three bookmarks with Anne of Green Gables, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and Jo March on them. The designs are quite lovely, and I am grateful to have actual bookmarks for a change, regardless of how long they actually last.

I also received a new mug with a floral design and quote from Little Women printed on it, along with two sampler size packets of loose leaf tea from First Edition Tea Co. in their Jane Eyre and Alice In Wonderland blends. I have tried both, still have one cup of each left, and of course I enjoy both of them. It is actually very for me to dislike a tea, so this is not a surprise.

I think the inclusion of a mug and tea in the box is a great accompaniment to the book. Frankly, I think I could happily receive a new mug and new teas to try every month with the book and remain happy. I really do not think I would ever get bored of that. I might need another house at some point to store all the books and mugs, but is that such a bad thing?

That said, I do like the surprise and variety these boxes are bringing me. I actually am starting a little herb garden at my place, using one of the plant markers from the Sweet Spring box. It is just one herb for now, sure, but I think I want to have a decent sized herb garden, because the amount of joy I felt the other day when I saw the first sprigs of thyme sprouting up…it is worth it, I think. I will simply have to find more recipes I can use fresh herbs in.

Anyways, I think my Leading Ladies box from Novel Editions was really well done, and I highly encourage anyone with an interest in books to at least try out one of their boxes. You can find more information about the service here, including descriptions of past boxes, so you get an idea of what they are all about! If you do decide to subscribe to Novel Editions, or even if you just try one box, I would love to hear about it. In the meantime, I am going to continue reading and sipping tea.

See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

