“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs has been floating around my vicinity for quite some time now, both because of social media accounts I happen to follow as well as the recent movie. I would like to say, though, that I have not seen the movie just yet. Since I knew it was based on a book, my rule about reading the book first came into play.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is a paranormal fantasy about a boy, Jacob, who travels to an island after a family tragedy. There, he unearths the story about the Home and slowly events reveal that not only were these children peculiar, but they may have also been dangerous, kept on the island for a reason…and may very well still be alive.

Interesting premise, is it not? If I was not mildly intrigued by the story, I would not have picked up the book, regardless of how many times it crossed my path. With that said, I think this book could use a lot of work. I think it may be partially due to the fact that it is meant for a younger audience, but in that same vein I am still very much in love with the Harry Potter novels, and they were originally meant for a younger audience than the one I fall into now.

Even though I read carefully, I feel like the events of the story simply went over my head. They came in one ear and just went out the other. Nothing really stuck in me, and I keep having to remind myself of what happened in the book as I write out this review. The writing itself was not bad by any means, but I still felt like it lacked the punch behind the words.

I do, however, believe that this book does have some potential. Even though I am not impressed by its contents (though I do not hate it), I may still watch the movie. I think the paranormal aspect of this book, and the attempt at haunting nature, would do better onscreen than it does on paper. It is a guess, as part of me is still unsure about the story itself. But, to that end, I did not hate the novel and as such, I think there is some good in it.

Have you read Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, or any of the others in the series? If you really liked it, I would love to know why! If you hated the book, let me know why as well! While I cannot get behind this book and recommend it to everyone 100%, I do know it has a decent level of popularity. So I know that it is not to my tastes, but it definitely fits with the tastes of other people. I would just like to know what they see.

~~**~~
Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk Books

One thought on “Escape: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Review

Leave a Reply

