How many books can you read in 12 hours?

For the moment, I am coming in at three books.

Today I have been participating in The Savvy Reader’s Readathon, which will run until 9pm today. It has come at the perfect time for me, considering I feel as if I am personally behind in my goal for the 50 Book Pledge this year. Okay so 38 books, which is my current number, is not bad, but I want to read at least 102 this year, and I am behind the mark on where I was this time last year. In any case, this Readathon has given the perfect reason to sit down and read for an extended period of time. Any extended period of time for reading is a prime opportunity for me to shoot ahead. Once I get on a roll, I really get on a roll.

So far today I have read Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets, The Prisoner of Azkaban, and I just finished The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. My next read, I’ve decided, is going to be Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I am unsure if I will finish this one, considering its length, but I will give it my best shot!

In terms of a review, well, you know I am in love with all of the Harry Potter novels. I remember writing a blog series on them during my last re-read in 2015. As for The Underground Railroad…I am still processing this one. That said, I definitely think it surrounds an interesting subject matter!

Now, it’s time for me to get back to reading. You can follow along with my progress on my Twitter feed (@jess_groom). The official hashtag for this event is #SavvyReadathon, and you can hear about everyone else participating if you search for this hashtag. Feel free to join me and the others in reading! It’s fun, I promise!

Leave a Reply

