time-for-tea-stories-can-change-lives

What’s In My Mug: Moroccan Mint by DavidsTea

I remember watching a live stream in 2011. The live stream in question was for the premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 in London, England. There was a lot of excitement during this live stream, some tears, and many heartfelt remarks. There was one remark in particular that has stuck with me beyond even my thoughts of the live stream:

“No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever. So whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” — J.K. Rowling

I have always been a firm believer that everyone is a voracious reader. Or, at least, have the ability to be a voracious reader. The only difference between those who read books seemingly all the time and those who read few books (if at all), in my opinion, is whether or not they find the right book. For me, I happened to find that book at a very young age. So young, in fact, that I do not remember any other book before it. The book?

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

I know some people may say I am obsessed with Harry Potter—and they could use that word. However, I would say that Harry Potter is one of the major things that made me the person I am today. I am a voracious reader because of that series, and because I am a reader, I developed a passion for writing. I do not know who I would be right now had I not discovered these novels when I was young. Would I still want to write my own novel? Would I still have the desire to be an editor? Would I still read just about every novel that piques even the slightest interest? Would I still have some of the friends I do today?

I’m not so sure I would. Thus, in essence, I know Harry Potter changed my life by shaping it in major ways.

Beyond this, though, I also know stories from books can inspire people to change their lives, give them fuel to keep going, set up charities…stories can do many things for people. I think one of the most common things a book can do is teach you a lesson, even if you do not realize it right away. Many can teach you to be grateful for what you have, to love everyone as an equal, to find joy wherever possible, that life is short, and more.

Some may not have discovered their book as early as I did, but regardless, the right book can still change your life. Thus, I would like to know what book (or series) changed yours. When did you discover it? How did it change things? What lesson(s) did you learn from it? Be sure to tell me what the book is about—always looking for another good read.

Leave a Reply

