“Sometimes getting your shit together is about admitting you DON’T have your shit together in a particular area.”
“Sometimes getting your shit together is about admitting you DON’T have your shit together in a particular area.”

I have, in the past, had an interesting relationship with self-help books. I never really read them that much, but when I did…well, let’s put it this way: on one hand, the advice is probably decent advice, but sometimes the tone of it is too optimistic or not as impactful as I really need it to be.

This is not the case with Get Your Sh*t Together by Sarah Knight. Of course, as she states herself, this is not a self-help book so much as it is a “let-me-help-you-help-yourself-help book, with “me” here to “help” when your “self” gets in the way.” I love this explanation, since truly if anyone were able to fix things on their own they would not really need to get help from a book, would they?

The fun in this book actually started right from the beginning, when Sarah declared that she was “going to use the word sh*t 332 times (including several sh*tmanteaus of my own invention), so please do not go on Amazon saying you were expecting sunshine and kittens and got sh*tstorms and sh*ttens.” Certainly a frank attitude, no?

I do not know about any of you, but I love this sort of advice. Okay sure, sometimes I would like a sympathetic ear, but if I am trying to get something from a book the compilation of blunt advice along with humour is a perfect fit. It probably helps that I am much like the author herself in terms of being a Simon with a bit of Theodore thrown in there sometimes. Yes, she divides types of people into three categories, matching the three chipmunks in Alvin and the Chipmunks. I told you there was some humor.

Is this lyrical writing? No, but that was definitely not what I was going in for. I remember reading The Life Changing Magic Of Not Giving A F*ck at the end of 2015 and knew as soon as I saw promotions for this one that I had to continue reading Sarah Knight’s work. In addition to enjoying the style of the book, I really do believe she gives some solid advice.

Rather than giving you everything, Sarah chooses to provide you with the tools you need to do it yourself, including handy exercises and a bingo sheet (I need to scan and print that one out for my own use). I love the analogies she makes to explain her thought-process. In addition to the chipmunks, she talks about your keys, phone, and wallet. But I will leave more of an explanation out, because of course you need to read this book for yourself!

Yes, I would highly recommend that you pick up a copy and read Get Your Sh*t Together. I would even recommend it if you think you have things together. Because you never know and, at the very least, it will provide you with some joy. It did that for me even beyond giving me some things to think about. Even though I seem to have my sh*t together (and in some areas I do) I know I have lots of work ahead of me, and I think this book was what I needed right now to get myself working better towards what I want.

If you try reading this one, I would love to hear your thoughts. Are you a Simon, Theodore, or Alvin? Have you tried the bingo sheet? Did you learn anything you want to share? Leave your comments down below!

~~**~~

Title: Get Your Sh*t Together: How to Stop Worrying About What You Should Do So You Can Finish What You Need to Do and Start Doing What You Want to Do

Author: Sarah Knight

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Leave a Reply

