“The future came and went in the mildly discouraging way that futures do.”
“The future came and went in the mildly discouraging way that futures do.”

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett is, essentially, a humourous book about the end of the world. Both sides are amassing their forces, though one angel and one demon do not seem to be okay with what is going on. In addition to that, the Antichrist was born and no one seems to know where he is.

When I read a book, I will generally have one of three reactions. The first is that I will absolutely love the book, as I did when I first read Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings. The second reaction is that I will have a strong negative reaction to the book. While having a strong negative reaction to a book is not great, it is not the worst one. Who knows, the author may have been looking for that sort of reaction!

The worst reaction, in my opinion, is the third one. The third and final potential reaction I will have when I read a book is one of apathy. Sometimes I just do not connect or care about the book’s contents. Unfortunately, that is the kind of reaction I experienced when reading Good Omens.

I started reading this book while I was camping with my parents. I am pretty sure I was lying in a hammock at the time. But that is not the point here!

I know that I did not connect with this book because it turned into a slow read for me. I was okay with putting it down and doing other things. I was okay with reading other things instead of Good Omens. That is an immediate indicator that the book does not resonate with me.

With all of that said, I do think the writing is good. If you enjoy humour throughout your novels, not just as a passing joke, you may find this an interesting read, particularly if you have enjoyed other works by either one of these authors. I do think, however, that you need to want to read a humourous take on the end of the world if you are going to enjoy this read. It is not really what I was hoping for when I started to read it, which is likely why I am left with an apathetic feeling.

I think many would classify this book as satire, which is why you need to be in a specific mood for it (in my mind, at least). It kind of reminds me of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I think the tone of both books is similar, though I think the way Hitchhiker’s Guide approaches things, along with the different stories, presents it better. If you enjoyed Hitchhiker’s Guide or similar satire, I would recommend this book. Just make sure you are in the mood for it when you start!

~~**~~

Title: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Author: Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Publisher: Workman Publishing (among others)

Leave a Reply

