“All her life she’d created lists. Lists of things she wanted to accomplish in life, lists of attributes she wanted in a husband, lists of what she planned to do with her career.”
“All her life she’d created lists. Lists of things she wanted to accomplish in life, lists of attributes she wanted in a husband, lists of what she planned to do with her career.”

What would you do for your child? How far would you go?

That is the choice facing Claire and Josh Turner in Saving Abby by Steena Holmes. The two of them have struggled for years to have a child with no success. At the opening of the story, it seems as if they are readying themselves to move forward down another path. As you would expect in a book like this, they are granted the miracle as soon as they stop trying. But what happens when things become less about the miracle and more of a struggle for survival? For not one, but two lives?

Every so often, I read a book like this. Not necessarily about the same struggle, but one that keeps me intrigued until the end. One that tugs on my heartstrings and makes me wonder what I would do if I were in their situation. Would I make the same choice? Would I do something different?

Unfortunately, I do not want to reveal too much about this book, lest I spoil something for you. What you will find, however, in just about every summary/teaser regarding this book is this: After receiving a devastating diagnosis, Claire and Josh must make a decision. Treatment might help Claire, but any treatment would put their miracle unborn child at risk.

What would you do?

I think this novel does an excellent job at showing all the different players and their “sides” of the story. To some, it seems, there is a choice (though a hard one) and for others it looks as if there is no choice at all. I liked this.

Whenever I read a novel that has a difficult choice in it, I want there to be some kind of conflict, regardless about what I think the characters should do. There needs to be some debate! You may argue there would not be a story without the conflict, but I think there would be. It would just be a different story.

Even though the characters in this story reacted to things the way I thought they would, the story still kept me hooked. That surprised me, as it does not happen often. Thus, I know this is a good one. I also thought that the writing itself was well done.

I wish I could share with you what I know I would do if I were faced with a situation like this one. Yes, I do know, despite never having been in anything like it. However, I want you to read it. I want to know what you think about the choices the characters make. Do you agree with Claire? Abby? Claire’s mother? Josh? Are you conflicted?

If you choose to read this book, please let me know what you think about it. Did you expect the choices? What surprised you? What did you think of the ending?

I look forward to hearing from you!

~~**~~

Title: Saving Abby

Author: Steena Holmes

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

Leave a Reply

