“I think we are going to have to love ourselves. Fuck.”
“I think we are going to have to love ourselves. Fuck.”

I think How To Be Single by Liz Tuccillo came onto my radar because of the movie version (although the movie does not seem to be much like the book at all though I have not seen all of it) more than because I read He’s Just Not That Into You a while ago (sometime last year, I think, but I do not remember).

The format of this book, as well as the way the author wrote the story, is a bit bizarre. On one hand, the title of the book makes it seem as if it will be a set of instructions. To be fair, there are rules at the beginning of each section. However, the book seems to be a combination of nonfiction and fiction.

I say this is a combination because, as far as I am aware, the author is telling true stories about her and her friends (though it is very possible there is some fiction added). The fiction part of it comes in because the way it reads sounds like it is simply a story rather than a true account. Overall, it is as if it is an essay in an adapted format!

I think the stories the author told were great ones. They were interesting and frankly, I would love to read a novel about a few of them. Thus, overall, I enjoyed reading this book.

I think the book makes some interesting points about how being single is treated around the world. Different cultures definitely have different view, I knew that already, but the things presented in this book actually fascinated me. Frankly, some of them seemed somewhat appealing! I would tell you about them, but I do not want to spoil anything.

Besides that, I enjoyed how each woman’s story was different and yet all seemed to mirror one another in various ways. If it were a complete work of fiction, I would say it was meant to do that. I suppose in this case, the author chose the portions that worked well together. There are probably many aspects of each woman’s life that do not fit together in any way.

There is one thing (or multiple things, rather, but they fall under the same umbrella) that I am unsure about though. Specifically, the rules the book shared about being single. While there are some good things to take from them, I do not believe that all of these rules would apply to every single person out there. I think it can be dangerous to make sweeping rules like this. Despite this, I do think you can learn some things from this book. Beyond that, it is a decent read even if you do not take the rules to heart and/or simply read for pleasure.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think about it? If you have not read it yet, do you plan to do so? Let me know!

~~**~~
Title: How To Be Single

Author: Liz Tuccillo

Publisher: Washington Square Press, Reprint Edition

Leave a Reply

