Hi everyone! This is not one of my scheduled posts, nor is it really focused on books, but it is something I really felt like I wanted to share with you. Yesterday I attended FanExpo Canada with a good friend of mine, Emma. She also has a blog, by the way, so check that out if you wish! Anyways, among some other things at the event, we both got to meet John Barrowman. For those who may not be aware, he played Captain Jack Harkness on Doctor Who and Torchwood, Malcolm Merlyn on Arrow (also other DC TV shows on the CW), and lots of theatre work. You can search him online for more of the things he has done.

When I knew that I was going to go to FanExpo, I immediately decided that I had to meet John Barrowman. I absolutely love Doctor Who and Torchwood and, apart from David Tennant’s Doctor, I feel safe in saying that Captain Jack is my favourite character. Even beyond that, I put a lot of stock into the things I love being a major part of who I am as a person, and Doctor Who/Torchwood happen to be two of the biggest pieces, as they were my gateway into science fiction. I say this because even though Star Trek (many versions) was on the television at my house a lot when I was growing up, I do not remember a lot of it, but I really remember getting into Doctor Who when it returned in 2005.

On this topic, I really hope that we get to see Captain Jack back again someday. I want him on Doctor Who again and I hope to see them resurrect Torchwood. I know there are certain things in the way right now, but I also know that those things (the person) are not going to be there for too much longer. So hopefully there is a shot. I, for one, will be tweeting, emailing, and signing petitions (maybe even starting my own) until we see Captain Jack again. If you can point me in the right direction for emailing the BBC and for petitions, I would greatly appreciate it.

So, back to FanExpo. I purchased a photo-op with John the day before and was ready for it. Well, as ready as I could ever be. When I meet one of the people who has been a significant part of something like Doctor Who, I get really nervous and excited. Honestly. I pretty much shake and have to focus on breathing because otherwise…well I do not want to pass out on anyone. I have to try to avoid letting anxiety take over. It happened a little year when I met James and Oliver Phelps (the Weasley twins), and of course it happened again (probably more significantly) this year with John.

The photo-op itself was really quick, since they have a ton of people to get through. This is how it turned out:

P-3R5-4AY-2E6

After getting out, I really wanted to get it signed. So Emma and I went to wait in his signing line until he was done with the photos. It took a while, but there were some pretty cool people in the line up. We had some great conversations!

This actually brings me to a point I want to make. It is why I sent out a tweet and Facebook post about how John Barrowman is one of the kindest souls I have ever met.  I know that he is quite excitable and “over the top” type of individual when he has his own convention panels and on the set of the projects he works on. I love hearing the stories and that excitement.

But I think what is most significant is how kind this man is. If you ask him for advice, he really takes the time to go through it and will take longer in lines to make sure that he gives you the best and most heartfelt advice possible. Seeing him do that is amazing and I know that the people asking will walk away with their lives changed in some way. It makes waiting in line to meet this man worth it. I would wait in line all over again, frankly.

I did get a short time to talk to him and did say that Doctor Who is a big part of who I am. I thanked him for being a part of it. I did not go into a lot of detail about why it is a big part of who I am, but I hope that he understood it anyway. If I ever get the chance to meet him again, I may just write things out before I get there. The good news is I know he understands people being excited and nervous because he is a massive fan boy of something himself. I have heard the story about when he met George Lucas.

Walking away from the experience of actually meeting him and seeing a video of the panel he gave the day before at FanExpo (which I wish I could have gone to), I have been doing some thinking. There has been this thought in my head for a little bit in recent weeks, but I think that having met John and all that yesterday has put me over the ridge I have been at.

I know that I am a writer. I write a lot on this blog (obviously) and I write most of the day at my actual day job with pay (because bills and things). But, I have somehow forgotten about the point of it all. A little while ago I actually finished a draft of a novel, but then it never went further than that. I feel like now I know…I owe it to myself to just do it. I owe it to myself to commit to working on it and doing everything I can to attempt to bring it into the public eye, whether that is through a major publisher, a small one, of self-publishing. So that is exactly what I am going to do.

Thank you, John Barrowman. For everything. You are one of the good ones out there.

One thought on “The 21st Century Is When Everything Changes

Leave a Reply

