“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”  - C.S. Lewis
“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” – C.S. Lewis

As you know, I read quite a lot of books. In addition to that, these books fall into a wide ranges of genres, lengths, et cetera. Since I read so much, I have to think about what books I am going to read next almost constantly. However, since I do read a lot, this also means that I need a variety of different ways to choose my books. I figured I would extend some of my methods in an effort to help those of you looking for your next read. Let me know if any of these end up working for you, or if you have some methods of you own you would like to share.

Let’s begin!

Who Is The Author?

If I love a book, or series of books, by an author, I am quite likely to give one or more of their other books a short. The biggest example of this is how I grew up loving the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. Thus, it made sense for me to give her following books a shot, which lead to me reading The Casual Vacancy as well as the ones she wrote under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. Did I love them more than Harry Potter? No, but I understood that was extremely unlikely when I started reading. They were great books regardless, and all of them have a place on my bookshelf.

Look At The Headlines

I tend to follow many publishing companies on Twitter and look at media related to books elsewhere on the Internet. This tends to bring new books onto my radar. For example, I was seeing Kate Hudson’s Pretty Happy in quite a few places online, so I decided to give it a try. I also see a lot of books on The Savvy Reader’s 50 Book Pledge website through their featured reads.

Of course, I do not pick every book I hear about when it makes the headlines. If I did that, I would likely have to read at least a few books I would hate. As such, I do take a little longer to decide if a book I see around will make it onto my bookshelf. I will explain what I do now.

Read A Synopsis

With both methods I have already explained, as well as the rest of them, I will always take the time to read a synopsis or other bits of information about the book and the story it contains within its pages. When I do read this information, I am not looking for specific things. The only sense I want is this: “Does this story peak my interest? Does it excite me in some way? Am I intrigued?”

It does not matter what the subject is, so long as something about the story interests me. After all, there are so many books to read, so why try struggling through one I know I do not have an interest in right from the beginning?

Friendly Recommendations

I have found that another good avenue for choosing my next book is from a recommendation given to me from a friend, relative, et cetera. Now, I do not get a lot from my family given that, as far as I am aware, I am the most voracious reader in the family. With that said, I do get a recommendation from time to time. They are generally good recommendations, so I have no issues with them when they come along.

Many of my friends also read a decent amount, and since they have different favourites or will be reading different things at different times, they do end up reading things I may not have gotten to yet. When I talk to my friends about books, which does come up, a recommendation is likely to happen! Sometimes I do not like the book, but I do like them more often than not. The one I am thinking of now is S. by Doug Dorst and J.J. Abrams. This was a good read, though it was quite complicated (mostly because of its unique nature).

Book Club Reading Lists

If I am part of a book club and the reading list is already set (which I am), how is this a choice for me? It is still a choice for a few different reasons.

When I first joined the book club I am currently in, it really was not a choice about the books I would read as a part of that club. I was joining partway through the year, and as such, they had already decided on the list of books. They had to decide early, since the club is part of the library and they have to get a hold of enough copies. With that said, it was a choice to be a part of the book club and, by extension, the books were choices too.

However, I have now been a part of this book club for over a year now. Not too long ago, the coordinator for our group sent out a survey. The library had many potential books picked for a list, and they invited us to vote for up to ten (I think) of our favourites. The ones with the most votes in the end would end up on the book list for the next year! Thus, I had a say in the books I would get to read. This actually includes The Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes, though I have already read that one. I am only a little ahead of schedule, I swear!

Revisiting Books

Sometimes, I do not know which new book I want to read next. This could be for a few reasons, including feeling overwhelmed at the number of choices in front of me or simply craving something familiar. This is when I end up rereading some of my favourites.

As I write this, I am rereading JoJo Moye’s Me Before You. Last year, I went through the Harry Potter books. I have a feeling I will be rereading Lord of the Rings soon (something I have not done for about three years now).

Regardless of what triggered it, sometimes rereading an old favourite is the perfect choice for me. If you are stuck, it may be a good choice for you as well!

 

I hope some of this tips will help you choose your next book. If they do, I would love to know which tip (or tips) it was and what book you ended up reading. Who knows, you may be picking my next read!

Leave a Reply

