“Because I can see the future and I know what will happen if I let you play with the lawn mower.”
“Because I can see the future and I know what will happen if I let you play with the lawn mower.”

I do not know if I have ever read a funnier book. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh is hilarious, unbelievable…it is amazing. I know I am a fast reader, but I promise you this is one book you will definitely speed through. There is no way you will want to put it down!

I actually read this one during a car ride as my brother was driving me back to my place (I had just spent a week working from our parents’ house). If I were to estimate the actual time I spent reading, I would guess around two or two and a half hours. However, I have to take breaks if I want to read while in a car or bus or else I get nauseous. But that is not the point.

Many things in this book are hilarious, like the anecdote about the goose. She also provides amazing insight into the minds of dogs. You know, as I wrote that it was as if I was a dog. Clearly, I am not, but as I read her stories, I was seeing my dog. I just know that his mind works in a similar fashion. It was uncanny!

In addition to the hilarity of many of her stories, Allie Brosh paints what I see as a brutally honest and revealing picture of depression. In my opinion, I think those stories would be beneficial to people who are suffering from depression, as well as people who know someone who is suffering. For the suffering individuals, these stories could give them hope that they are not alone. From my understanding, this is not easy to come by. If you know someone suffering, chances are these stories (while they likely would not apply exactly) would give you a little bit more understanding and compassion.

I think the pictures and their crudeness/simplicity really make the words work. I highly doubt the hilarity and other emotions I felt while reading would have been the same had the drawings been intricate or otherwise what you might typically want to see in a nice picture. Besides, I know these would be what my pictures would have looked like (or similar, at least), so I feel as if there may have been another connection here.

Overall, I think this was a fantastic, light read. I would highly recommend it for a summer’s day while you are sitting a lawn chair outside. I would recommend it if it is raining outside and you want to curl up in front of the fire. Frankly, I would simply recommend this book to just about anyone who was looking for their next read.

If you do choose to read this book, I would love to hear your thoughts about it! What story did you like the most? Did you identify with any one of them? Any other thoughts about it? Share them below!

~~**~~

Title: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened 

Author: Allie Brosh

Publisher: Touchstone

Leave a Reply

