“And one of my clients is offering you five hundred thousand dollars each, if you’ll agree to spend some time together. At least once a week for two continuous hours, for one full calendar year.”
“And one of my clients is offering you five hundred thousand dollars each, if you’ll agree to spend some time together. At least once a week for two continuous hours, for one full calendar year.”

Once again, the 50 Book Pledge I am in is influencing my choice of literature. This time, it was one of the past featured reads for this year. Honestly, the title and description of the book intrigued me right away. It really is an interesting concept…would you want to spend two hours with a stranger each week for a year if someone was going to give you half a million dollars?

I cannot actually give a simple yes or no answer to that question myself. Let me explain. I would say yes if I knew that I would be safe throughout the process. Unfortunately, I do live in a world where I feel like I need to be vigilant, particularly around people/men I do not know. I suppose this would really only apply for the beginning of such a proposal. I think after I knew the person it would be okay, except if they happened to be someone who makes me quite uncomfortable (even if I would be safe).

Before I opened this book, I feel like I knew what was going to happen. Given the premise and the genre, I just had a feeling. I cannot tell you what I thought because I have to say this: what I thought was coming, did come. I did not mind the ending. In fact, it was kind of how I wanted the book to end when I first started reading it. This “want” is why it comes as a shock to me that…I just did not believe it. I did not buy into the ending. It started out well, but I think it seemed sped up and whatnot as everything moved forward. In addition, the author chose to include side stories into the lives of the main characters. Now, there is nothing wrong with this. However, I feel like there could have been something to tie it into the proposal these two people had a little better.

Now, I do think this book still has merit, even beyond personal taste (who knows, you might think it is completely believable). I like that the cast of characters is diverse in terms of gender, age, race, et cetera. I do not think this is something you tend to see a lot of in “mainstream” literature. I know that the only reason I would read a book like this one is because I choose to do it on my own. It is not something one of my classes in high school or university (unless it was a specific/targeted course to this type of thing) would have had on the book list. With that said, I wish books with diverse characters were on the lists for classes more often. I wish they were more prominent.

This book was a little predictable and did not seem believable to me. However, there were some good moments and as such, I think The Decent Proposal is worth a read if the premise of two strangers meeting for a couple hours each week intrigues you.

~~**~~

Title: The Decent Proposal

Author: Kemper Donovan

Publisher: HarperCollins

Leave a Reply

