“What you see and what you hear depends a great deal on where you are standing. It also depends on what sort of person you are.”
“What you see and what you hear depends a great deal on where you are standing. It also depends on what sort of person you are.”

With which character in the story do you identify? Why do you think you are similar to this character?

You know, I did not really identify with anyone all that much in this book. I would still probably stick with Lucy Pevensie throughout this series. However, if I were to pick I would probably settle on either Polly or Digory. Typical, I know, but let me explain. I think that I share my innate curiosity with them. Of course, that was more prominent when I was a child, but of course they are children here! I think the thing that separates the two of them for me is Digory’s situation with the fruit. I love that he did not eat the first fruit, even though there was his mother to consider. I think I would have found myself acting quite similar to him if I knew there was something out there that would help someone I loved.

Is Digory a better person at the end of The Magician’s Nephew than he was at the start? How has he changed for the better or for the worse?

Oh of course Digory is a better person at the end! I think that this is the case for most characters. It is not limited to this series. Many stories, like this one, have a focus on character development. The situations the protagonists find themselves in shape who they become. The hero at the beginning of any story is not prepared to defeat the villain on page one. They need to go through certain things in order to get to that point!

In Digory’s case, I think he becomes more agreeable by the end of the novel and quite a bit more trustworthy. I think he would have definitely taken an apple for himself right away at the beginning of the novel. Yes, it would be for his mother and to a certain extent, it would be a good action, but it would still be selfish at the same time. At the very least, he knew enough at the end to question what he was thinking about doing before actually going through with the whole thing. Even if he had gone through with it at the end, the time he took to think would still show development!

Why does Digory not eat the fruit he picks in the walled garden? Why is it important that he brings the fruit uneaten to Aslan?

I think what it comes down to that he knew enough to think before he took action. You can make it a little more flowery than that, but I believe that is what it boils down to. I think there are two things you can take as important from the fact he leaves it uneaten. First, it demonstrates the character development he has gone through. Second, if you agree that there is Christian imagery in the book, you can argue that this story bears a striking resemblance to the classic Adam and Eve story with the Garden and the apple tree. Here, I would imagine, people would think the Witch is the snake.

Overall Thoughts

I think I still enjoy the books focusing on the Pevensie children more…in fact, I feel like that is growing as I spend more time away from them. With that said, I liked reading this one…because after all, isn’t Digory the old professor in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe? I think many might say I should have read this one first, but there are many benefits to starting with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. It is the most popular, but beyond that I think the introduction to Narnia is much better in that.

You get more of a florish with Aslan’s entrance, and everything is “established” at that point. I like that this one functions similar to a sequel despite it being a prequel. Again, to make a Star Wars parallel here, it is better that you read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe first before returning to see how everything began in the same way that you would want to watch Episodes 4 through 6 before the prequel trilogy (or mixing it up, if you go with the Machete Order).

~~**~~

Title: The Magician’s Nephew

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: Geoffrey Bles

Leave a Reply

