“Child,' said the Lion, 'I am telling you your story, not hers. No one is told any story but their own.”
“Child,’ said the Lion, ‘I am telling you your story, not hers. No one is told any story but their own.”

Bree enjoys rolling around in the grass, but he is worried that other talking horses of Narnia will think he looks silly. Do you ever stop doing something you like because of what other people think of you?

I would honestly love to say that I have never stopped doing something because I was worried about what others would think…but I cannot really do that. Overall, I do not care what the general public (meaning, people I do not know) think about me. I will generally do what I want. However, my issue comes with people I know, like, want to impress, et cetera. I have altered parts of myself in the past when around certain people. I have not done that lately, and as a result am much happier. I would like to say that I would not do it again, but it is just something I am working on rather than a definite thing. People make mistakes!

All in all, I definitely understand Bree’s mindset. Also, side note: is anyone else reminded of Lord of the Rings here with Bree?

When Bree runs away from the lion in Archenland, Shasta wants to go back and help Hwin and Aravis. How is caring for others more noble than caring only for yourself?

How is it not more noble? Caring for yourself is a good thing, but it does become a little problematic if you hurt other people in the process. I think caring about the welfare of others is an admirable thing, and I love that Shasta wants to help others.

Do you think it is important to have read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe before reading this book? Why or why not?

You know, I think it could go either way. I personally would recommend that you read The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe first given its chronology in Narnian history. There are also some mentions of the Pevensie children, and if you want a proper introduction, you should read this one before the others.

Despite the fact that there are some characters and other elements that overlap between the two books, I do not know if it is strictly necessary that you read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe first. I say that because, despite how they appear in the chronology of Narnia, they focus (mainly) on different characters and as such you could read either one of them first.

I personally would still make sure that I read The Horse and His Body afterwards, because in all three of the reading orders commonly cited, it always appears after The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. On a side note, that site is how I decided on my final reading order for these posts. It kind of reminds me of the Machete Order for Star Wars!

Overall Thoughts

Even though this book takes place just after The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, I feel like it is disconnected from all of the others. I think I feel like this because, even though The Silver Chair did not feature any of the Pevensie children, it still seemed to fit. This one, however, did not seem to fit. I think maybe it might be the order I am reading these books in? With that said, I think the order really has been working, up until this point. I think I would have to reserve my final thoughts for the end of this reading series and evaluate as a whole.

What did you guys think of the book? Would you respond to these questions in the same way I have, or in a different fashion?

~~**~~

Title: The Horse and His Boy

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: Geoffrey Bles

Leave a Reply

