“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ― C.S. Lewis
“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
― C.S. Lewis

At the end of last year, I decided that for 2016, I would attempt Savvy Reader’s 50 Book Pledge. This is a challenge where you attempt to read 50 books in the space of a year. Daunting, right? Some choose to stick to that challenge, or create one of their own. Since it was my first time trying this, I decided to stick with 50 books.

I have not tried to read this many books before. I would just read without a specific number in mind. With that said, I have always been able to read fast and as such, I tend to read quite a lot in a short space of time. Whenever I tell people this, they always seem to ask me how I manage to read so much in short spaces of time. Thus, I decided to try to share some of my “secrets.” Well, they are not really secrets, just the things I do (and I assume many others do) to increase the amount of material I read.

Spare Moments

I think, regardless of how fast you are able to read, the most important thing to help you read more is to read every chance you get. In my case, I will read while I am waiting for the bus, while I am on the bus, during my lunch break at work, during commercials on television, and any other moment I can find in my day.

I find that even if I only have five minutes, I can still make progress. If you are busy like I am many days, five minutes here and there may be all you have. It may not seem like much time, but what happens when you have time to read for five minutes multiple times in a day? The time adds up!

Carrying Books

The other thing I do is carry a book with me just about everywhere I go. Sometimes it is a physical book and sometimes I am carrying my Kindle. In both cases, carrying a book around lets me take advantage of those five minutes when they come around. There is no way I could read every chance I got if I did not bring a book with me!

I will mention here that I do prefer reading from a physical book rather than my Kindle, but I love the advantages (which include the portability) my Kindle provides. I plan on comparing reading physical books and reading on a Kindle in a future post.

Reading Speed

Another weapon in my arsenal is the fact that I, for some reason, read quite quickly. As far as I know, it has always been this way! I am not sure why I read fast, which is unfortunate because I would love to teach you how to read fast and still comprehend what you are reading. However, because I am not sure where my speed reading comes from, all I can say is practice.

Find a pace that works for you. Do not try to go too fast, or you will not be able to remember what you just read. You may not notice improvement right away, but if you really try, I am sure you can increase your reading speed little by little with each book.

Read Great Books

The last piece of advice I can give you about reading more books and more content overall is to read good content. I know that when I am enjoying a book, I always read faster. This is because I just cannot wait until the end! I want to know what happens! Do the good guys win? Does the girl get the guy? Does Harry defeat Lord Voldemort?

In addition to reading faster when I am enjoying what I am reading…who has time for reading books I do not like? I used to feel compelled to always finish whatever I am reading, regardless of if I am enjoying it or not. While I still feel this on occasion, I am learning that I do not need to finish a book if I am uninterested in its contents. Of course, I still try to finish things for this blog and my reviews, but I know that I have to really stretch to write a review when I do not care about the book in question.

 

Let me know if these tips help you, or if you have any tips of your own to share!

Leave a Reply

