“On your very worst days, you have to push your negative thoughts. You have to take a step back. You have to remember the lottery. Because you’ve already won.”
“On your very worst days, you have to push your negative thoughts. You have to take a step back. You have to remember the lottery. Because you’ve already won.”

I know that at this point I have already read more books this year than I have in a while. This is thanks to the 50 Book Pledge. At the time I am writing this, I am at about 36 books in, although by the time it is posted, I expect that I will have reached 50 books. Well, I hope I will have at least. So why do I mention this pledge?

I mention it because this pledge is part of the reason I heard about this book. As part of this pledge, I have been scouring the Internet for new books to read (and in a variety of genres). This is why The Happiness Equation: Want Nothing + Do Anything = Have Everything popped up on my radar.

I am so glad it did.

I seem to have a love-hate relationship with books that could fall into the “self-help” category. Frankly, most of the time I do not believe they work. How could they, considering everyone’s life is different and who could possibly employ the advice these books are giving them in the exact way the book is telling them they need to do it? In order for a self-help book to have even a shot at being good and helpful, there need to be flexibility. The people reading it need to be able to adapt the advice to fit their lives.

I think that The Happiness Equation works wonders on this front. The advice this book gives is simple but also detailed at the same time. I finished this book recently, and thus have not had the chance to put the advice into practice, but I can already tell that it will do me some measure of good. Take the quote at the beginning of this article, for example. It is a nice thought and the context it appears in is well written and makes perfect sense. Even though this portion is not as “obvious” per say as a mental health book, the section still seems to understand that negative thoughts do come around for everyone.

This book also provides quite a bit of humour to moments that could actually be quite serious in people’s lives. Consider the following:

“WebMD is like a Choose Your Own Adventure book where the ending is always cancer.”

There is, of course, a broader context to this quote, but think about that point on its own. It is somewhat true, right? You could input any symptom into a website such as WebMD and come out with a serious disease lie cancer. If you go looking for a problem, you will likely find one, whether it is actually what is happening or not.

When it comes down to it, I do think at least some of the advice in this book could be very useful in helping someone live a happier life. Is it the ultimate fix? I doubt it. However, I also do not necessarily believe in an ultimate fix. Not just one anyway. You would need a combination of things to go all the way, and I think this is no exception.

I would highly recommend you try reading this book. If nothing else, it will make you smile, laugh, and be happier while you are reading it.

~~**~~

Title: The Happiness Equation: Want Nothing + Do Anything = Have Everything

Author: Neil Pasricha

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Leave a Reply

