“Somewhere in this world is a man who loves you, who understands how precious and clever and kind you are. A man who has always loved you and, to his detriment, suspects he always will.”
“Somewhere in this world is a man who loves you, who understands how precious and clever and kind you are. A man who has always loved you and, to his detriment, suspects he always will.”

Whenever I read my first book from an author and it absolutely hooks me, I always look into their other works and see what they offer. More often than not, I find myself reading most, if not all, of their other books. Last year I read Me Before You by JoJo Moyes and it was one of the best books I have read in a very long time. Thus, I went looking into JoJo’s other books. I decided to start with this one: The Last Letter From Your Lover.

The book surrounds two different periods. The first is in 1960 (and the following years) when Jennifer Stirling wakes up in the hospital. She was in a car accident and cannot remember anything, who she is and her husband. However, she stumbles upon a love letter signed only “B.” In 2003, a journalist named Ellie finds the same letter in archives and becomes enchanted. She works on the story, with her job on the line, and by all accounts, her search into the past will almost rewrite history and change her own life in terms of her modern romance.

So now you know the premise behind the book. Intriguing, is it not? That is precisely why I decided to start with this one as my next foray into reading JoJo Moyes. Of course, going into this I knew I was probably going to compare it to how I felt about Me Before You. If I were to compare it, I would have to say this book was probably average quality. However, I want to shy away from doing that.

I love the idea behind this book. I am, of course, a complete “sap” when it comes to romance. The intrigue and the time span of this story also added additional layers to the story and lifted it a bit beyond simply average.

I do, however, have a personal issue with the novel. Despite how I think it is a good story and good writing, which comes as no surprise given how much I enjoyed Me Before You, I do not like the idea of people cheating on their spouses. I do not care whether it is a man or a woman doing the cheating. Certain reasons, while they may tug on my heartstrings, still leave a sour taste in my mouth. I understand that in the past (1960s) divorce was a much bigger issue. However, I wish that if people really were going in the direction of cheating, there has to be something off in the marriage. What about counselling before it gets there? Beyond that, if you loved your spouse…why cheat? I do not understand.

I could go on, but as I said that is a personal issue with some of the subject matter. I still believe The Last Letter From Your Lover is a great read. If you read Me Before You and enjoyed that, I would definitely recommend giving this one a try. I suspect I might feel the same about the rest of JoJo Moyes’ books, to a certain degree because I doubt anything will top Me Before You, but I have to read them first. Keep your eye on this blog (and my Twitter) for news about the rest of her books.

~~**~~

Title:  The Last Letter from Your Lover

Author: JoJo Moyes

Publisher: Penguin

Genre: Romance

 

Leave a Reply

