“I don’t hate hardly ever, and when I love, I love for miles and miles. A love so big it should either be outlawed or it should have a capital and its own currency.”
“I don’t hate hardly ever, and when I love, I love for miles and miles. A love so big it should either be outlawed or it should have a capital and its own currency.”

After I read Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking and enjoyed it, I knew I had to read Carrie Fisher’s next memoir, Shockaholic. Out of the two of them, I think I enjoyed Wishful Drinking a little bit more, but Shockaholic is still quite enjoyable.

Like with Wishful Drinking, the grammar in Shockaholic is not quite right in many places. That said, I do not believe that is the point with this one, just as it was not the point with Wishful Drinking. As funny and good as Shockaholic was to read, I think it is better suited to be an audiobook, or a one woman play similar to how Wishful Drinking started out. You really need to hear the expression in Carrie Fisher’s voice as she tells her stories. I tried to imagine her voice while I was reading, but there is only so much I can do. I am not as familiar with her voice as I am with others, so it is not as simple to have her talking to me as I read.

Some of Carrie Fisher’s stories seem absolutely unbelievable, such as the one involving Michael Jackson, and some seem heartbreaking to me, like the one involving her father. But at the same time, I think that many people could learn a lot from reading them.

Did you know that Carrie suffers from bipolar disorder? Did you know that she is a recovering addict? I did not. It is obviously not something she is hiding, given that she wrote two books that relate to that exact topic quite heavily. I guess I was just not paying attention? But in any case, I think books like these, with real stories, are important for people to read. This one in particular provides more support for the platform laid in Wishful Drinking that demonstrates the struggle behind mental illness. But she does not let it define her, not really. The stigma is not erased with this book by any means, but in my opinion, it is stories such as this one that will help with that. But that discussion is not meant for this post.

As I said in my post reviewing Wishful Drinking, I do not normally read celebrity biographies or memoirs. More often than not, they do not interest me. But Carrie Fisher shares real stories with us. She does not try to glamourize anything, and she keeps the reader laughing even when the story she tells is not a particularly happy one.

This book will have more of an impact on those who know who Carrie Fisher is, even if it is just from Star Wars, but even if you are not quite familiar with her, I would recommend giving this book a read. Her stories, combined with her wit, offer something to each reader.

If you read it, let me know what you think!

~~**~~

Title: Shockaholic

Author: Carrie Fisher

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

One thought on “Shockaholic Review

Leave a Reply

