“Resentment is like drinking a poison and waiting for the other person to die.”
“Resentment is like drinking a poison and waiting for the other person to die.”

General Kenobi: Years ago, you served my father in the Clone Wars; now he begs you to help him in his struggle against the Empire. I regret that I am unable to present my father’s request to you in person; but my ship has fallen under attack and I’m afraid my mission to bring you to Alderaan has failed. I’ve placed information vital to the survival of the rebellion into the memory systems of this R2 unit. My father will know how to retrieve it. You must see this droid safely delivered to him on Alderaan. This is our most desperate hour. Help me, Obi-Wan Kenobi; you’re my only hope.

I do not normally read celebrity autobiographies. For the most part, I do not feel the need to hear about their lives. With countless other books to read, they do not land high on my priority list even when there is a slight interest.

However, I decided that I wanted to read some of Carrie Fisher’s books. I follow her on Twitter and I think she has a certain wit behind her words. Additionally, I found her response to people commenting on her appearance in The Force Awakens and how she aged…well, I found it great. She owes nothing to us. Her performance is what should matter, not what she looks like. Besides, male actors like her co-stars from the Star Wars films do not see this kind of criticism. Apparently they are allowed to age, whereas she is not.

Let’s get back to the book though. I loved reading it. Some of the stories seem so incredulous and just unreal to me, but looking at news articles demonstrate that they are actually true. I mean the story about her friend Greg? Shocking, but yes, it is true. Everything that she shares in this book seems to be true, even if a little unbelievable.

Carrie’s writing is not flawless, but then again I am sure that no one’s writing is truly flawless if you read critically. Her writing is, however, witty. She is absolutely hilarious. Wishful Drinking, based on a one woman show, holds many one-liners that sometimes it was very hard for me not to laugh out loud. I will not share all of them with you, that would spoil all the fun, but I will share one. I do not know that it is my favourite, I only finished reading the book the same day I am writing this, but it is still quite funny.

“…no matter how I go, I want it reported that I drowned in moonlight, strangled by my own bra.”

Now do you see what I mean?

If you read any celebrity autobiography, I would highly recommend that you read Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking. I can tell that she knows how many might feel about these kinds of books, and she handles it almost perfect with the length of the book as well as the way in which she writes her story. I do need to mention that there are many different stories about drinking, drugs, et cetera, in this book, so be aware of  that in case you are sensitive to any of those topics.

There is one other thing that I want to share with all of you before closing. At the end of Wishful Drinking, Carrie writes an author’s note that…well, it has an important message. You should read the book before you read the whole author’s note, but I would like to leave you with this:

“They should issue medals along with the steady stream of medications one has to ingest.”

~~~

Title: Wishful Drinking

Author: Carrie Fisher

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

 

One thought on “Be A PEZ Dispenser: Wishful Drinking Review

Leave a Reply

