Could. Not. Give. A. Fuck.
Could. Not. Give. A. Fuck.

I would like to preface the following book review by sharing a mild warning and a story. The warning is I will be using some colourful language (as you can probably tell from the title). Therefore, if you do not enjoy that type of thing you might want to turn away. On the other hand, as the book actually says, if it offends you, you might actually really need to read it.

The story is actually how I came to purchase this book yesterday. I had been eyeing it online for a couple weeks after hearing about it on Twitter from the publisher, Little Brown, and I decided to check out my local bookstore to see if they had a copy. I actually could not find a copy at the front, so I had to ask a clerk to help me. Now, for those who know me in real life, you will know that I do not actually like to swear a lot. I find it holds more weight when I only swear occasionally. So I censored myself by saying “The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving an Eff” to the clerk. They ended up asking if I actually meant “eff” or if it was “fuck,” causing me to believe that they were internally making fun of me for not wanting to swear. It was a young man who I was talking to, and honestly it really felt like that in the store. I did not mind, actually there have been a few people who comment on how I do not normally swear. But this is not the point here, on to the book review.

In short, I loved reading The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck. It is incredibly humourous at certain points—“You can be the Santa of fucks!”—and quite practical. The book points out early on that it is a parody of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, but you do not have to have read that book to find usefulness and enjoyment out of this one. In fact, I have not read Marie Kondo’s book, but after reading this one, I just might!

This book is, at its core, decluttering your mind and relieving stress by looking at the things that annoy you and to—quite simply—stop giving a fuck about those things.  It goes through the process of creating a Fuck Budget, which outlines how many fucks you have to spend, as well as comprehensive lists of different items that would go on your Fuck Budget. Sarah Knight separates these into four categories, the potential categories of Fuck-Giving, ranging from Things to Family.

The thing that I think helps this book the most is that Sarah actually conducted a survey and provided real-life examples from herself and others to put her “teaching” into context. Not only did this create many instances of laughter on my part, but also helped me imagine things just a little better.

Sarah Knight also outlines how you probably should not give a fuck about things that you cannot control (such as a rainy forecast) and focus your fucks on things you can. She also shows you how to stop giving all these fucks while also not being an asshole. For me personally, that is great because I would rather not be an asshole, but I could certainly stand to stop giving a fuck about many things.

Overall, I think this book is fantastic and encourage anyone looking for a laugh (or who is seriously looking to stop giving a fuck about certain things) to give this book a shot. While I went through the book without generating all my lists about Potential Fuck-Giving, in the interest of writing this post, I will be going back and writing my own lists. I do, however, have a couple things that will certainly go on my list of things that I, personally, could not give a fuck about. Well, it also has things that I should stop giving a fuck about at least.

In no order:

  1. What other people think
  2. People who ignore my text messages
  3. What the Kardashians are doing
  4. Most sports
  5. My weight
  6. Pretending to be sincere when I’m not
  7. Books I don’t like
  8. Facebook likes

Yes, some of those are the same or similar to those Sarah Knight shares in her book. But you know what? I agree with her on them. Others I do not, but as she says, no two list of fucks are the same.

If you choose to read this book, I invite you to share a couple of the things in your life that might annoy you in the comments. As well, if you enjoy or do not enjoy the book, feel free to share below.

3 thoughts on “NotSorry: The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck Review

    1. It’s 208 pages, including the index and everything. It’s a pretty quick read if you go through like I did (longer, obviously, if you take the time to make your lists and stuff). I think it took me maybe two hours to read? Possibly less, but I’m not sure. It may or may not take you longer, depending on how fast you read.

      Like

Leave a Reply

