"I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”
“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”

A couple of weeks ago, in the midst of my re-read of the Harry Potter series, I tossed an idea to a close friend of mine, Mathuri, about reading (re-reading some) all of Jane Austen’s novels together and making posts about them here on my blog. Pretty much an online book club!

We’ve known one another for just over three years now, and though we met as a result of Harry Potter, I fully believe that Jane Austen was a significant factor. We are both fans of Austen’s work, though neither one of us has read her entire collection. In addition to her original work, we are both avid consumers of Austen adaptations. Highlights here are, of course, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and Emma Approved. Although I am the one writing this, I know for a fact that Mathuri would highly encourage that you watch these if you are at all intrigued to watch modern adaptations of classic love stories.

For those who have seen these adaptations, remember that one long frustrating wait followed by a phenomenal character reveal? I distinctly recall waiting on bated breath in my university lecture. I only had ten minutes in between classes, but I sat down on the floor outside the lecture room and tore through that video before running across campus.

This is how it is going to work. On Friday this week, November 13th, I will post here with a discussion style blog from Mathuri and myself about Sense and Sensibility. We will go down the list in order of publication and post a new discussion blog every two weeks. I highly encourage anyone who might want to chime in with their thoughts to get copies of each of Austen’s novels and follow along!

~~**~~

Talk to us on Twitter!

Jess: @jess_groom

Mathuri: @mathurimaya

Leave a Reply

