I’m done university. How did that happen so quickly? I feel like I should be going back in the fall, back to the campus and the familiar lecture halls and small classrooms. But…I’m not.

With the amalgamation of everything, and I mean everything, that has happened to me in the past four years (and in particular the last four months), I am faced with a multitude of possibilities. A world full? We will have to wait and see what comes next.

Right now it is time for me to build.

In a week I am going on what promises to be, by all accounts, the trip of a lifetime. Not just because I have never been on a plane in my life either. I am going to see some amazing countries and beautiful scenic landscapes. I am going to see places that I’ve only ever seen in movies, in a world that I find fascinating. It is going to be an experience that I guarantee I will never forget. It will be healing in more ways than one.

Thinking about this trip has resulted in an idea. I subscribe to a number of YouTube video bloggers, and have been interested in the possibility of trying it myself for a little while. It will be an experiment, especially since I am used to just typing with no one actually seeing me. I’m the quiet type, who prefers small gatherings, if that, over large crowds. Staying in over parties. Quiet environments over loud. I doubt any of that will change, but considering that I am a crossroads in my life having just graduated, some opening up is necessary. Some extension beyond my current state would be good for me, just like a close friend of mine keeps saying. This is a weird way to go about it I am sure, but I think it’s the right way for me. I’ll ease myself into it. It’s just a camera after all. Just for now. I’ll find my camera presence eventually–it has been done by many vloggers before me, so I am comforted in knowing that it is possible.

The first question that I asked myself when I was initially toying with this idea is what exactly I would talk about. I need to have some form of direction, if only so that I can start something and keep with it. So this, I think, is what I will start with: video blogging my trip. Now, I won’t be focused on the internet while I am gone because I want to absorb absolutely every single thing that I can. This doesn’t even include the fact that for the majority of the trip I may not even have access to WiFi. My plan instead is to post them after I have returned home, piece by piece. I will however, have an introduction vlog of sorts filmed and uploaded before I fly.

After my trip is documented? It will be a surprise.

I have so much building to do, both personally and professionally. I may be knocked down sometimes, like I have been quite a few times in the past, but I will pick myself back up. I’m good at that.

I’ll read books.

I’ll finish my novel.

I’ll do scary things.

I will keep my friends close.

I will do the best that I can.

It’s time to build.

Leave a Reply

