“From the ashes a fire shall be woken, A light from the shadows shall spring; Renewed shall be blade that was broken, The crownless again shall be king.”
“From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”

I can’t say that I’m not one to make New Year’s Resolutions, because I clearly am since I am writing this. I don’t, however, define them as resolutions. Rather, they are promises that I make to myself. I call them promises because I will find myself making them throughout the year. It just so happens that some come around that make more sense for me to promise at the turn of a new year. This year, I think, will be even more important and iconic in terms of what it has in store for me. Thus, these promises seem to have a little bit more weight.

What I Know

  • I am graduating university in a few months.
  • I will be travelling to the other side of the world shortly after I finish my exams. This will be my first time on a plane.
  • I have graduate school in the fall.
  • I will be in a new city, where I’ll know next to no one.
  • I am now facing what I knew was going to come five years ago, when I made the decision to study what I love instead of what will guarantee me a job

You see? There are lots of changes on the horizon. There are probably even more than that, ones that I cannot predict. It really does make me wish that I could see the future. Or, at least, some parts of it. Either way, I know that I have to concentrate.

“‘It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,’ he used to say. ‘You step onto the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to.’” –Lord of the Rings

My Promises

  • Trim the Fat: Make better choices about food, drink, lifestyle
  • Me Time: Minimum once a week, carve out some time for myself (no exceptions)
  • BBC’s The Big Read: While I cannot commit to finishing this challenge, I am sectioning off 37 of the books on this list for me to read during the year. I’d commit to more, but I’m leaving room for university reading as well as anything else that may crop up (like a reread of Lord of the Rings)
  • Burlesque: I’m not going to become an exotic dancer, just so you are aware (burlesque is different, or it can be at least). But I’ve been toying with joining a dance class at my university for a while now, and this time I am going to do it.
  • Demon: Make the demon move out from under the bed
  • Yoga: Bring out my yoga mat that has been sitting in my closet for months and actually do yoga. It doesn’t have to be every day, but a few times per week would be nice
  • Try: Just try and be my best. The best version of myself is all I can ask
  • Three Hundred Sixty Five: On individual slips of paper, write (or have others write) one thing that will make me smile (total of 365)
  • The Wall: Because, face it, I need this.
  • Edit Draft: finish at least one, if not two, full scale edits of my novel

“Even the smallest person can change the course of the future.” –Lord of the Rings

I wasn’t going to post this—frankly even as I am writing this I’m still toying with the idea of leaving these words to exist only on my computer but I need to put them out there. I think. Right now I am trying to finished reading two different books, Dracula by Bram Stoker and Yes Please by Amy Poehler, by the time the clock strikes midnight tonight because once 2015 begins I have so many other things to read. My mind is right on cue with questioning myself and running through regrets and gut feelings and twisty not nice butterflies. But I’ll get there, eventually.

There are so many things that are swirling around in my brain right now, many of which I won’t be able to write down here because I probably won’t find the right words—it happens to me, more often than people realize.

2015…

There’s a lot of work in store for me, but I think there are two things that are of almost critical importance.

I have to repair the cracks in the foundation.

And, a wonderful idea that’s appeared in Yes Please—I need to decide what my currency will be.

Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

