"Maybe Christmas," he thought, "doesn't come from a store. Maybe Christmas… perhaps… means a little bit more."
“Maybe Christmas,” he thought, “doesn’t come from a store.
Maybe Christmas… perhaps… means a little bit more.”

I don’t know when it started, but for as long as I can remember I have watched Dr Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the animated 1966 version with Boris Karloff) every year in December at least once. Although, frankly, it ends up being more than once. Thus, I have lost count of how many times I have seen this film. The thing is, I never get tired of it even though I can pretty much quote the entire thing. In my defense, it’s only 26 minutes long.

This is my own personal holiday tradition, and is one that I plan on keeping for as long as I possibly can. I can safely say that this is my favourite Christmas movie, and I highly doubt that this will ever change. I do get pure enjoyment out of it, particularly with the music (You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch), but if you actually analyze it, there is a great lesson to be learned from this film. At the end of the film, when they realize the all their presents are gone (despite the fact that they do get return) the Whos decide that Christmas really isn’t about presents. That, I think, is beautiful. I enjoy receiving gifts as much as the next person, and I love giving them as well, but Christmas is not about that. Now that I don’t live at home anymore, I’ve come to appreciate the Christmas season more because now it really is a time to be with family. But I digress.

Does the Grinch returning the presents make everyone happy? Yes.

But was it absolutely necessary for them to enjoy Christmas? No, it was not.

Even the Grinch grew when he realized that Christmas wasn’t about presents, when the Whos gathered in the square and sang even without presents and food in their homes.

I hope that, whatever your tradition may be or wherever you will spend this holiday season, you will have a good time with the people that you love.

Leave a Reply

