joss whedon

For those who are not aware, National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is an annual event spanning the month of November during which participants are challenged to write 50,000 words of a new novel in one month. Not an impossible goal, but still difficult enough to be a significant challenge.

I have participated in NaNoWriMo and its summer counterpart, Camp NaNoWriMo, approximately 5 or 6 times–each time meeting my goal. Unfortunately, I have not continued with any of the pieces I worked on during these events, up until this past summer when I used Camp NaNoWriMo as a tool to increase my total daily writing amount. Now I am pleased to say that I am sitting on a finished first draft of what I feel could be a good science fiction novel once it’s finished. Is it good? The fundamentals are, I think, but in the end this is a first draft and there is a lot of work to be done. First drafts are not supposed to be perfect. They only need to be written–they are a foundation upon which the author can build.

With this in mind, NaNoWriMo is going to be different for me this year. Although my mind is currently being filled with a number of new ideas for novels, most of which happen to be science fiction in one way or another, I will not be writing any of them in November. Instead of my normal 50,000 words I am challenging myself to edit the entire first draft of my novel by the end of November. Therefore, by the end, I will have a second draft and can consider doing more with my manuscript at that point. I do have plans for it, I swear.

Currently, my novel has about 26 chapters. In addition to editing these chapters, and without spoiling anything, I will also be adding what I am calling “interludes”, of which I have 5 planned. This, in my estimation, is doable but still quite challenging considering I also have university work to do, among other things.

Whatever way this turns out…its about time that I renew my focus onto things that I love.

Leave a Reply

