10th_doctor_tardis_wallpaper_by_xxtayce-d6f6w8h
“There are worlds out there, where the sky is burning, the sea’s asleep and rivers dream. People made of smoke and cities made of song. Somewhere there’s danger, somewhere there’s injustice, somewhere else the tea’s getting cold. Come on Ace, we’ve got work to do.”

Doctor Who is my favourite television show without question, in despite of the flaws I can see when I take an objective standpoint. For example, some episodes for me are miles ahead of the others and others are only okay. Specifically, I absolutely love The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances in the first series of the reboot but not so much episodes like The Next Doctor. However, I still love Doctor Who for two big reasons that essentially eclipse the flaws (for me).

The first reason that I will tell people if they ask me why I like Doctor Who, particularly if I just met them, I will tend to say something about the inspirational material that I have found within it and the lessons that it can teach. To best demonstrate when I mean,  I’ve picked out a couple examples:

 

“But that implies, in this big grand scheme of gods and devils, that she’s just a victim. Well, I’ve seen a lot of this universe. I’ve seen fake gods and bad gods and demi-gods and would-be gods. I’ve had the whole pantheon. But if I believe in one thing… just one thing… I believe in her!”

In my opinion, the most important thing that the Doctor does for his companions, and even for those who are only around for one episode, is that he always believes in them and by doing so causes them to believe in themselves. He shows them (and us) that ordinary people are still extraordinary in their own way. The above quote is referring to Rose, and she does change in amazing ways, though this also applies in a big way to Donna. She always considered herself a lowly “temp”, but the Doctor showed her how important and amazing she actually was. As well, it was her skills as a temp that were integral to the defeat of Davros’ plan in Journey’s End (the number of words per minute she could type).

 

“One good solid hope is worth a cartload of certainties.”

This particular line is from Classic Doctor Who, but is prevalent throughout the reboot as well. It has recently become very important for me, which is why I have included it as one of the examples here. I am studying Communications and English with a little bit of business at university and I am working with the official literary magazine here (incidentally, I am the Editor-In-Chief for the upcoming year). When I graduate next year, I plan on pursuing my dream of being an editor at a publishing house, all the while including work on my own novel. I have realized that this path is very difficult and there’s no way around that—but I still have hope and that is worth more than anything else. This particular instance from Doctor Who reflects that for me, and helps me keep pushing towards what I want.

 

There is one other reason that I love Doctor Who so much and surprisingly it actually has nothing to do with the content of the show itself. It’s actually about the fact that I watch Doctor Who with my Dad whenever I come home and there’s a new episode. (Side note: Hi Dad, if you are reading this). Specifically, every time I come home for the Christmas holidays, on Christmas Day (or at least as close as we can manage) my Dad and I will go and watch the Christmas special together.

My Dad is actually the one who introduced me to Doctor Who in the first place actually. I don’t really remember the exact events, but I spoke with him about it and we have come up with what seems like a logical assumption. He used to watch it when he was growing up, so he figures that when he saw it once again on television in 2005 he was curious and put it on. I was most likely 11 at the time (can’t remember the exact month), and would have just walked into the living room to sit with him at watch it.

At first there was the thought that maybe Dad recommended it to me, but I know that Doctor Who is the beginning of my fascination with science-fiction so it is unlikely that this was the case. Additional shows and books, as well as movies, have now been recommended to be and I know that all of this stems from my love of Doctor Who.

I like spending time with my family regardless of whatever it is that we are doing, although I love play board games. Also, I have found a trend in that I tend to enjoy movies, shows, books, etc. more when I have someone I can discuss them with.

But yes, Doctor Who is my favourite. I mean, apart from what I have just written about, who wouldn’t be fascinated by the ability to travel through time and space with this amazing and intriguing man?

 

Best Wishes,

Jess

Leave a Reply

