“And now it’s time for one last bow, like all your other selves. Eleven’s hour is over now, the clock is striking twelve’s.”

I sat down this evening with my dad to watch the 2013 Doctor Who Christmas Special, The Time of the Doctor. This has, I have realized, become a Christmas tradition for him and I.

Tonight’s Christmas Special was also the episode during which Matt Smith was going to make his last appearance as the Doctor (barring any special multiple Doctor episodes).

I have to say that I am quite pleased with the quality of the episode. The acting was great, particularly from Matt. There are a number of his lines that really connected with me that I will probably write quite a bit about in the near future. In addition to the acting, I was quite pleased with the overall storyline. I kind of had some suspicion of what it might be, just going off of what I know from previous episodes and the trailers, but I was not expecting what actually took place. This episode does wrap of Matt’s time as the Doctor in an interesting way, and while doing so brings closure to a few unresolved events that have occurred over the last few series.

This episode isn’t perfect by any means; while watching I did feel left wanting on certain parts, but for the most part Steven Moffat did a good job with this Christmas Special. I am not sure if this was intended, but while watching this episode I actually found myself reminded of some of the previous episodes of Christopher Eccleston and David Tennant. This is something that I really appreciated as I have been watching Doctor Who for quite some time. These “mentions” are a little hard to miss if you aren’t paying close attention, but when you realize what they are, it is not only satisfying, but it can also make you smile (it did for me). I should probably note that they may not be intentional, but they are still quite cool in my opinion.

Overall, I think that this was a great Christmas Special, and if I were to rank Matt Smith’s Christmas Specials (including this one there are 4) I would probably rank this one first or second.

Finally, this episode provided Peter Capaldi’s debut as the Doctor (well, technically it is his second, but he was only on for a couple seconds in the 50th Special), and I must say that I am thoroughly intrigued and excited for his tenure as the Doctor.

Best Wishes,

Jess

Leave a Reply

