Hello Internet, and Merry Christmas Eve.

I’ve been sitting here on the couch a little bit today, and I’ve decided to write a bit about what’s happening tomorrow, apart from Christmas itself. Whovians will know that tomorrow is also the Doctor Who Christmas Special, where we will be saying goodbye to Matt Smith as the Doctor.

I’ve noticed lately that there are many people around the Internet, and some in my real life, that are really freaking out and upset about the regeneration. Which I completely understand, although I’m not really upset about it.

I’ve been watching Doctor Who for about 8 years now, and have seen 4 regenerations (McGann, Hurt, Eccleston, Tennant) and am about to see my fifth. I’ve also seen video clips of the older Doctors’ regenerations, so I feel like I am generally comfortable with things by this point.

When David Tennant was going to regenerate, although I knew about it for over a year before it happened, I was a complete mess, especially when he said “I don’t want to go”. I think that for a few people that I know, both in real life and on the internet, are upset about Matt Smith leaving because he is their Doctor. Which I get, because David Tennant is my Doctor (totally allowed to say is because time travel), for a number of reasons, all of which would take me a long time to explain. Not the point though.

I am aware that I am not a completely season veteran of Doctor Who, though I am working my way through the classic episodes, but I thought that I would share my musings about the impending regeneration.

Yes, you will be sad for awhile about Matt leaving. But remember that you can always re-watch the episodes whenever you feel like it. I will still watch some things from David Tennant’s era. But also, the Doctor is amazing regardless of what face he has. Your Doctor will always be your Doctor, and kind of like how Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home, your Doctor will always be there to hold out his hand and invite you into the mysterious blue box to travel space and time.

I am always nervous when it’s time to usher in a new Doctor, but I am sure that Peter Capaldi will do a good job, and I have a feeling that his time as the Doctor will be reminiscent of how Doctor Who was in the classic days, what with him being an older actor. The classic episode are quite good, although its really bizarre to watch things in black and white and generally not great visual effects.

I do have to do some other things now, like work on my novel, but look forward to my review of the Christmas special. It should appear either late tomorrow or sometime on Boxing Day.

Once again, Merry Christmas (or just have a Happy Holiday depending on what you celebrate).

Best Wishes,

Jess

 

Leave a Reply

