Django Unchained is a film that I have been meaning to watch for a little while now, and I finally sat, or rather lay down, to watch it. I settled down in my nest of blankets, stuffed animals, and pillows and prepared to watch.

I only knew three things about this film before I started it. The first was that it was directed by Quentin Tarantino. The second was that it had to do with American slavery in some fashion. The last thing, and arguably what made me want to watch it in the first place, was that it was a fantastic/amazing film.

While it’s not my favourite film of all time, I will agree with the fact that it is a fantastic film.

I absolutely loved Christoph Waltz’s character, Dr. Schultz, from the moment that he said to the chain of slaves that they had two choices: to either carry the man beneath the horse to the nearest town, or shoot him and claim their freedom.

I will admit that I was confused when he and Django caught and killed the Brittle brothers not far into the film; I thought that maybe they would have taken more of the film to do that. However, it did make sense a little while after when they teamed up for other bounties before tracking down Django’s wife who had been separated from Django and sold to other masters.

I won’t spoil the ending of the film, but I will say that the acting by all of the actors/actresses is really good. I was particularly impressed by Jamie Foxx’s Django acting as a black slaver, and of course I’ve already mentioned that I enjoyed Christoph Waltz as Dr. Schultz.

This film retains Tarantino’s distinct signatures as a director and as a writer. Even if I didn’t know that he was a part of this film, and I had ignored the credits at the beginning, I would probably have had a feeling that this was one of his films anyways. To his credit, it is sometimes difficult to tell films’ directors apart if they are in the same genre, but I don’t think I have ever or will ever make that mistake with Tarantino’s work.

There were, of course, some things that I did not like about the film: the use of the word “nigger” too often for example. I also found myself laughing at parts that, had it been any other film about the subject…I probably wouldn’t have laughed and that did feel slightly odd.

However, this film is definitely worth a watch. However, make sure that you are prepared to sit for quite some time (I had to take a couple breaks) as it is a long film.

Best Wishes,

Jess

Leave a Reply

